Chakras, about balance and weight

Chakras are still in the so-called “vague corner” for many. After all, if we read the different interpretations of chakras, which are broadly based on the same thing, it is still not really tangible. But yes, people want proof and if something is not tangible, then you just have to accept it (or not). But if that assumption now leads to something that is highly desirable, does it really matter? Reason enough to take a closer look at the chakras.

What are chakras?

Chakra means wheel in Sanskrit. They are energy centers, about seven, which are located in our body. The front is a kind of wheel and the back has the counterpart of the wheel. They make, as it were, rotating movements, send and receive energy in the relevant area, communicate with each other and are located between the head and the tailbone. They are aligned, in line with the spine and the energy channel is called Sushumma.
The photo below shows the different chakras in the right place. Below are the official names and their functions;

  • 1 Muladhara; the root or base chakra acts from safety. Is physical and material. (color red)
  • 2 Svadisthana; this chakra acts from pleasure, sexuality, desire, emotion. Primary. (color: orange)
  • 3 Manipura; decisiveness is what belongs to this chakra, will, power and especially energy. (color yellow)
  • 4 Anahata; at the level of the heart it cannot be anything other than love and relationship. (color: green)
  • 5 Vishuddha; this chakra is characterized by detachment, but also creativity and of course communication. (color blue)
  • 6 Ajna; If you are at the level of the brain, insight cannot be missed. But your intuition also plays a role. (colour: indigo)
  • 7 Sahasrara; contentment is what characterizes the seventh chakra. It is a kind of capstone where unity and comprehensive knowledge reigns. (color: purple …. and sometimes it is also described as white)


Source: Clker Free Vector Images, Pixabay

What do chakras do and can you stimulate them?

All the aforementioned aspects together ensure that a person is in balance and that is also the function of the different chakras. A part of the body that is dysfunctional may mean that the chakra in question is blocked.


Sometimes you don’t know it (yet), but you can find out through meditation. Make sure you are in a quiet environment, an environment where you can concentrate well and where there are no distractions of any kind. Adopt an open, upright position, i.e. straight back and legs in a cross-legged position, this opens the pelvis. Not everyone can sit comfortably in such a position on the floor, but a special meditation cushion can help. In any case, make sure you sit relaxed and focus on the chakras.
Now go through them one by one from bottom to top, remove them from the body as it were while moving and stack them up in front of you. Clean them, if necessary with a garden hose. Allow everything to be flushed thoroughly and place the rotating chakras back into the body. Continue to breathe well during this process. The visualization process is important, but after such a meditation moment you can feel refreshed. This is a normal phenomenon.
If you find this difficult or vague, you can always go to a professional who can guide you in this process. The great thing is you have to take it seriously, but you don’t have to believe in it. You can also get started physically with yoga. The different postures stimulate the different chakras.

How else do you use chakras?

Another aspect, and less known, is the role of your weight , as an important part of being human. It doesn’t immediately make you fall off – like so many miracle cures – but it does set the tone. After all, a body in balance also takes care of the weight. When everything is in balance, you eat well and what you need to live a healthy life. If the balance is lost somewhere, for example, obesity can be (or become) the result.
If we take a closer look at the different chakras, there are a number of practical matters per chakra that you can apply or live by, namely:

  • 1 Muladhara; exercise sufficiently, eat regularly (in terms of time and quantity).
  • 2 Svadisthana; eat small portions, but with attention (alternately) and with pleasure. Enjoy it.
  • 3 Manipura; plan in broad terms what you eat per day (at least the variance for the vitamins).
  • 4 Anahata; give and take in proportion, do not compensate (think of sweets) and give everyone his/her space (in food, in learning, etc.).
  • 5 Vishuddha; find a moment of reflection every day and be honest in everything (including food) in what you do, what you don’t do, etc. and let waste products leave your body as quickly as possible (caffeine, prepared food, drugs) … or better yet try to limit or avoid them.
  • 6 Ajna; make sure you keep an overview of what you consume, think about it carefully, correct it if necessary and be happy with what you do to live a healthy life. Stay away from so-called ideal images.
  • 7 Sahasrara; be satisfied with what you have, enjoy everything and always ensure good breathing.

All these aspects together create a healthy eating pattern and although this is nothing new, it is the total picture that you can live with to full satisfaction, with chakras in balance. If something is different, try to correct it, but don’t make excuses.


Whether you believe in chakras or not, great results are achieved. The fact that you do not want to accept that there may be more than what meets the eye also says something about you. No judgement, just an observation.

Scroll to Top